Tyrannosaurus Rex   A Zinc Of Finches   5CD Box Set

Tyrannosaurus Rex A Zinc Of Finches 5CD Box Set

Brand:Easy Action

Product Code: EARS007

Availability: In Stock




Ears007        Barcode:  823566 035121                          Release:



Disc One:

The Unreleased recording of the Final Perfumed Garden  14th August 1967 Pirate Radio Broadcast   33.45

1.     John Peel Opening the gates of the Perfumed Garden

2.     Rings of Fortune              Tyrannosaurus Rex

3.     Hippy Gumbo                 Marc Bolan

4.     The Wizard                     Marc Bolan

5.     Highways                        Tyrannosaurus Rex

6.     Desdemona                     John’s Children

7.     Winnie the pooh              John Peel

8.     Sarah Crazy Child           John’s Children

9.     John Peel closing the gates of the Perfumed Garden



Disc two74:58

Demos & work in progress 1967 to 1969


1.     'Child Star'                              2:35       Studio Outtake  5.11.67

2.     'Highways'                            1:59          Studio Outtake      5.11.67                         

3.      Sleepy Maurice ( Featuring Danny Thompson )   2:52        Studio Outtake          5.11.67                 

4.     'Chateau In Virginia Waters'    2:34         Studio Outtake    5.11.67          

5.     Deep Summer (instr)                 4.41     Studio Outtake  .12.69

6.     Rock Me / Puckish Pan              2:57      Studio Outtake      .7.68

7.     One inch rock  (diff Beginning)     2.20   Studio Outtake    .7.68

8.     Sea Beasts                     2:18                 Studio Outtake

9.     Cat Black                       2:42                   Studio Outtake

10. Chariots of Silk                2:20               Studio Outtake

11. Pilgrims Tale                   1:59                Studio Outtake

12. Like a White Star tangled and far tulip that’s what you are 3:35  Studio Outtake

13. Prelude            1.45       Home Recordings

14. King of the rumbling Spires Versions 1 & 2     3.54 Home Recordings

15. June Child & Marc recitation      15.01  Home Recordings

16. Lofty Skies  lead break    versions 1&2  2:35  Home Recordings

17. Dragon’s ear   Versions 1 &2               3.00  Home Recordings

18. The Wizard Vocal extracts                  1.35  Home Recordings

19. Summer Deep     3 parts                   2.47  Home Recordings

20. Fist Heart Mighty Dawn Dart              2.14  Home Recordings

21. Elemental Child                             3.57   Home Recordings

22. Organ Blues                                  1.33  Home Recordings

23. Pictures of Purple People                  2:00   Live in 1967

24. Demon Queen                                 1.36   Studio Outtake







Live Shows



Disc three Live in London 1969

 Lyceum ballroom  11th April 1969 & Queen Elizabeth Hall 13th Jan 1969


1.     Unicorn / Hot Rod mama    Lyceum ballroom  11th April 1969

2.     Afghan Woman

3.     Debora

4.     Mustang Ford

5.     Stacey Grove

6.     Salamanda Palaganda

7.     Wind Quartets

8.     One inch rock

9.     Chariots of silk

10.  The Seal of seasons

11.  Conesuela

12.  Nijinski Hind

13.  Once upon the seas of Abyssinia

14.  Do you remember?

15.  The Wizard

16.  Conesuela           Queen Elizabeth Hall 13th Jan 1969 unreleased show

17.  The seal of  seasons

18.  One inch rock

19.  Eastern spell

20.  Wind quartets

21.  Mustang ford

22.  Salamanda Palaganda

23.  Strange Orchestras

24.  Evenings of Damask

25.  Chariots of silk

26.  Pewter Suitor

27.  The Traveling Tragition




Disc four : In America


Unreleased live show at Café au go go New York 16th august 1969

1.     For the lion and the unicorn /hot rod mama

2.     Debora

3.     Afghan woman

4.     Misty coast of Albany

5.     Mustang ford

6.     The seal of seasons

7.     Chariots of silk

8.     Strange Orchestras

9.     The wizard

10.  Stacey grove

11.  One inch rock

12.  Conesuela

13.  Nijinsky hind

14.  Once upon the seas of Abyssinia

15.  Salamanda palaganda

16.  Blue Thumb USA unreleased promo 45 Marc & John Peel 1969

17.  The Wizard USA unreleased promo with Dwarfish Trumpet Blues Story






disc five  a new dawn



1.     Interviews  chicago 23rd aug 1969

2.     Oh Baby –Dib Cochran & the Earwigs      (Original A side )

3.     Universal Love- Dib Cochran & the Earwigs     (Original B side)

4.     Pavillions of sun  live                                                Rotterdam,    June 1970 Unreleased

5.     Jam session –Dib Cochran & the Earwigs           CTS Studios,Wembley march 1970 Unreleased

6.     Oh Baby – Tyrannosaurus Rex version                     Unreleased





Dvd Unreleased footage

  1. Debora & Mustang Ford                                                 Kempton race course
  2. Stacey grove  &  Salamanda Palaganda                Paris,  August 1968
  3. By the Light of the Magical moon                          Rotterdam,    June 1970
  4. Rarn and Suneye                                                    London rock
  5. Kempton Race Course footage






  • Marc Bolan started work on his new songs after leaving the group Johns Children and also taking a couple that he’d recorded with them as well and started to create something ‘big’ in his plans for the future. As big as a Tyrannosaurus Rex. Some songs were worked through at home on his own and some with Steve Peregrine Took who would be the percussionist. Tyrannosaurus rex released four albums, three with took and one with Mickey Finn who would later enjoy teen adulation with marc in T.Rex. All the albums and outtakes from those sessions have been issued by Universal. What we have here are home demos and work in progress and live shows all of which are as rare as hens teeth as it was considered a few years ago the some of this material simply did not exist.
  • Contains totally unheard material from Marcs own tapes (recently re united with the family), incredible snippets of work in progress, unused version of songs that differ from the final released track all licenced from Rolan Feld
  • Booklet includes extensive liner notes and rare memorabilia from the Tyrannosaurus Rex fan club
  • Box contains miniature copy of a Tyrannosaurus Rex concert programme from the Queens Hall in London 1969
  • Disc One includes  the FINAL broadcast of John Peels Perfumed Garden show from late sixties Pirate radio which is completely unreleased
  • Disc Two Contains totally unheard material from Marcs own tapes (recently re united with the family), incredible snippets of work in progress, unused version of songs that differ from the final released track, Sleepy Maurice was issued as a fan club 7” and along with Chateau in Virginia Waters, Child Star, Highways and a version of Demon Queen appear on the boxed set “20th Century Superstar” the rest of the material is unheard
  • Disc Three contains two London shows the lyceum enjoyed a limited released in the nineties however the queens hall show is totally unreleased
  • Disc Four featuring marc and Steve live in New York is unreleased
  • Disc Five includes the two tracks from the 7” single by Marc’s next short lived  project Dib Cochran & the Earwigs featuring Rick Wakeman and unreleased jam from those sessions , an unreleased live version of Pavilions of Sun from Holland and a totally unheard version of Oh baby demoed whilst still Tyrannosaurus Rex
  • Disc Six includes a DVD of extremely rare footage of Tyrannosaurus Rex all of which is unreleased

​Design by Les Clark 




Write a review

Your Name:

Your Review: Note: HTML is not translated!

Rating: Bad           Good

Enter the code in the box below: